
THE ADVENTURES OF BORIS THE IMPROVER 

 

This is Board 15, played at our club on Tuesday 20th August.  One West played in 2 spades 

making 4.  One East and one West played 2 spades making 5.  Two Wests played in 4 spades 

making 4.  One North played in 2 diamonds down 2.  According to the computer six spades 

can be made by either East or West.  I checked on X-club and found results similar to ours.  I 

haven’t checked them all but haven’t found anyone making 6 spades.  Let’s see how Boris got 

on.  I have followed convention and put declarer (West) at the bottom of the page. 

 

The bidding 

Lou opened one diamond and Agatha passed.  She has the points to double but the wrong shape.  

Boris bid one spade, Lou bid two diamonds, Agatha bid three spades and Boris raised to four.  

If Agatha had doubled instead of passing Boris would have bid two spades instead of one to 

show his strength and Agatha would know to bid game.   Lou led the 6 of diamonds. 

 

     Agatha 

     ♠ A K 9 8 

     ♥ 4 

     ♦ A Q T 4 

     ♣ T 9 6 2 

♠ J          ♠ T 6 4 

♥ A Q 2         ♥ K 8 7 5 3 

♦ K J 8 6 5 2         ♦ 7 3 

♣ Q 8 7         ♣ J 5 3 

Lou          Michelle 

     ♠ Q 7 5 3 2 

     ♥ J T 9 6 

     ♦ 9 

     ♣ A K 4 

     Boris 

 

The plan 

Boris has four hearts and one club loser.  He plans to trump three hearts in dummy and throw 

the club loser on a diamond. 

 

The play 

Boris plays the Queen of diamonds on the opening lead and wins the trick.  He next leads a 

heart to the 9.  Lou wins with the Queen and leads the King of diamonds, hoping partner is the 

player that is out.  Boris wins the trick with the Ace and discards the 4 of clubs from hand.  

Since he can only trump three rounds of hearts, he takes out a round of trumps with the Ace of 

spades.  He notices that Lou played the Jack. 

 

Boris next plays the 2 of clubs to his Ace and makes a decision.  Where does he want to be 

after he has finished cross ruffing?  Answer; in dummy.  While it is possible that Lou has the 

ten of spades if Michelle has the last two trumps it is important to be able to lead through them.  

At trick six Boris plays the King of clubs which also saves it from getting ruffed later. Tricks 

seven-eleven Boris ruffs a heart in dummy three times and a diamond in hand twice.  When he 

leads the ten of clubs from dummy at trick twelve Michelle trumps in with the 6 o spades.  

Boris overruffs with the 7 and the Queen of spades takes out the ten at trick thirteen. 

 



Hopefully Helpful Hints - The Director’s Role 

During lessons players are told the ranks of the suits, how declarer is decided and who is on 

lead.  If anyone breaks the rules, they are told to call the Director.  In the real world; this doesn’t 

always happen. The rules of bridge are not designed to dish out penalties when players make 

mistakes.  They are designed to prevent the offending side from profiting by doing so.  If for 

example there is a lead out of turn an experienced declarer will sometimes tell the offender to 

pick the card up and get their partner to lead whatever they like.  Declarer is obviously confident 

the lead will make no difference and there is no need to call the Director.   But and it is a very 

big BUT, if there is a chance it will make a difference the Director MUST be called. 

 

     Dummy 

     ♠ K Q 5 

     ♥ A 9 8 2 

     ♦ Q T 9  

     ♣ 7 5 4 

♠ T 9 7 4        ♠ 8 6 3 2 

♥ 7 4 3         ♥ 6   

♦ K 2         ♦ A 8 6 5 3 

♣ K Q J T         ♣ 9 8 3 

West (Mr Defender)       East (Mrs Defender) 

     ♠ A J 

     ♥ K Q J T 5 

     ♦ J 7 4 

     ♣ A 6 2 

     Declarer (South) 

Bidding is simple enough.  South is dealer and opens one heart.  North raises to three hearts 

and South bids four.  East leads the Ace of diamonds and then apologises when told of her 

error. South calls the Director.  The Director reels off a list of options and declarer decides to 

have the lead come from West and forbid the lead of diamonds.  West leads the King of clubs.  

Declarer wins the trick with the Ace, takes out three rounds of hearts, plays three rounds of 

spades and discards a small club from hand on the third round.  A club and two diamond tricks 

are lost but declarer has little trouble in making four hearts.  Other players have done the same.  

Justice has been done without penalty or punishment.    

 

BUT what would happen if the Director is not called.  Instead of exercising the right to forbid 

or demand the suit illegally led, but from the correct side, declarer tells East to pick the card 

up. West can lead whatever he likes.  Now that West knows partner has the Ace of Diamonds 

the King of diamonds is led instead of the King of clubs.  The one card out of the thirteen 

possibilities that will kill the contract.  This is followed by the 2 of diamonds to partners Ace 

and ruffing the third round of diamonds.  At trick four West leads the King of clubs and will 

later make a club trick to defeat the contract.   

 

If West didn’t know East had the Ace of diamonds, there is no way the King would have been 

led.  It is normally better to sit back and wait for declarer to take an unsuccessful finesse.  Not 

convinced?  Try South and East swapping the Ace of clubs for the Ace of diamonds.  Club lead 

followed by two more, Declarer is one light.  King of diamonds lead, Declarer makes five.  

While it is not possible to stop players from making wrong leads and insufficient bids it is 

possible to prevent their partners from using the information such actions have given them. 

 

Brian Spendelow. 


